Beshear: Disaster SNAP Benefits Approved for Eastern Kentucky Counties

Picture File

FRANKFORT, Ky. — Governor Andy Beshear announced Monday that disaster food benefits have been approved for residents and workers in eastern Kentucky counties affected by devastating flooding.

In July, the President issued a Major Disaster Declaration in Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike, and Whitley counties, which resulted in the benefits of the relief program. nutritional aid in the event of a disaster. According to a statement from the governor’s office, nominations can be submitted beginning Wednesday, August 24.

“Families in Eastern Kentucky affected by the devastating floods have lost everything, and these added benefits are critical to helping these Kentuckians recover and rebuild,” Beshear said. “It will be a long road to recovery, but we will be there for our people in the weeks, months and years to come. We are in the same boat.”

Applicants should call the Department of Community Services D-SNAP Center at 833-371-8570, which is the fastest way to receive benefits. Inquiries will be taken by phone from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. EST Monday through Friday and Saturday from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. EST.

“We are grateful for this emergency funding to help Kentuckians who may have lost loved ones, jobs or personal property due to the region’s worst flooding in generations,” said Eric Friedlander, Cabinet Secretary for Health and Family Services.

Applications can be made in person at a DCBS office or at a disaster recovery center. A full list of locations and updated times can be found here.

Residents who are currently receiving SNAP benefits can also request and apply for replacement benefits due to power outages and other impacts by calling the D-SNAP center or visiting the local DCBS office or DRC. According to Beshear’s office, any SNAP recipient can apply for replacement benefits whenever food purchased with SNAP benefits is destroyed due to a household disaster.

Beneficiaries in Breathitt, Knott, Letcher, Martin and Perry counties are automatically eligible to receive replacements. Any SNAP household receiving a replacement due to food loss in the 12-county area will automatically receive a supplement, which will increase their household’s allocation to the maximum for their household size for one month, according to the release.

Residents and business owners who have suffered losses in designated counties can request other types of assistance from DRCs, through FEMA at, on the FEMA mobile app or by calling 800-621-3362. To see DRC locations, visit

Beshear said those who have been approved for assistance should register for direct deposit with FEMA. Call FEMA at 800-621-3362 to register for electronic filings.

About Kristina McManus

Check Also

Mobile banking apps with no overdraft fees – CryptoMode

Mobile banking apps are in a race to end overdraft fees. According to Moebs Services, …